



TESA August 2014 Newsletter—Highlights of 2014 Annual Meeting in San Antonio

The 2014 annual meeting July 16-18 was a total success. Professional development sessions were very informative (career ladder, career development and mentoring; grant writing; chapter director training; quality customer service; teamwork; and others), good feedback from Dr. Steele and Dr. Miller, great family activities (River Walk boat ride and Tower of the Americas) and, of course, good food. Thanks Diann Mitchell-Linger, you and your "compadres" (Helen White, Joice Jeffries, Dawn Burton, and Lori Colvin) did a superb job planning the meeting. Special thanks to Steven Klose, Candice Foster and Lori Colvin for their work on registration and the program. Thanks to Jackie Smith for his great fundraising which allowed us to have the meeting.

Highlights:

- **2015 TESA annual meeting** will be July 20-22, 2015, at T Bar M in New Braunsfels. This is a family oriented resort and should be great for the kids. Mark your calendars.
- 2014-2015 Officers:

President—Diann Mitchell-Linger President-Elect—DeDe Jones

Secretary—Helen White

Treasurer—Steven Klose

Historian—Emmy Williams

Past-President—Mac Young

- Thanks to Jackie Smith for organizing the **golf tournament**. I understand he was the rule maker and head score keeper....so his team won.
- **Buddy Faries** will be retiring August 31. He was a past president and an active TESA member for 30+ years. We will miss his experience and sense of humor. Of course, we hope to have a continue relationship as a retiree.
- The board approved by email prior to the meeting to award Jan Kyles as a Honorary Life-Time member of TESA due to her service to TESA and all extension employees during her career.
- Rebekka Dudensing was awarded the **professional development grant** for 2014-2015 to help fund a survey of 141 rural Texas counties to collect and evaluate "stayer" data to support Extension community economic development outreach.
- Thomas Lafayet Dozier, son of Monty Dozier, is the 2014 scholarship winner.
- Award winners for distinguished achievement:

CEA-ANR—Gary Cross, Hale County

CEA-CRED—Gary Cross, Hale County

CEA-Speciality (Horticulture)—Barbara Storz, Hidalgo County

CEA-FCS—Deanna Franklin, McLennan County

Support—Candice Foster, Farm Assistance, Department of Agricultural Economics, TAMU

- At the board meeting, the board approved waiving the first year annual meeting registration fee for new members starting with the 2014 annual meeting.
- Travis Miller and Suzanne Deatherage have been heading revision of the Professional Career
 Ladder System for Extension Program Specialist. The TESA Promotion Task Force has been

requested to review the proposed guidelines and provide input. These revised guidelines are currently under review by the TESA committee. It was requested that the revised guidelines be kept confidential by the Task Force until ready for release by administration.

TESA will be forming a mentoring program to help new specialists and program specialists.

• Dr. Doug Steele's comments-

- =>Moving forward to fill Associate Director for County Programs
- =>Considering changes in career ladder for program specialists
- =>New, simplified guidelines anticipated for partial cost recovery
- =>Changes to TExAS reporting system are being tested and will be forthcoming

• Dr. Travis Miller's comments-

- =>Encouraged submitting "Next Talk" topics
- =>Still need accurate reporting in TExAS; data used to report to LBB
- =>Regional program leaders will be focusing on high quality regional programs
- =>Healthy South Texas-focusing on 27 counties to change life styles to healthy life styles
- =>Drought initiative forthcoming on managing land, crops, etc.,
- =>New water initiative-\$1.5 million for 9 approved projects
- =>County agents are being encouraged to be more active in working with specialists
- =>Looking at variable program planning to allow for plans that start at different times of year

Mac Young TESA Past President